---
title: "Add, edit, and delete user groups"
canonical: "https://docs.aryaka.com/space/KNOW/878542873/Add%2C%20edit%2C%20and%20delete%20user%20groups"
format: markdown
---
User groups are designed to make management of similar users—for example, those that share access control requirements, those located in the same geographic location, or those with the same job title—easier by grouping them and allowing management tasks to be group-based. When you configure user groups, you must specify the following details: Name and description of the group—Because roles assigned to user groups define access control for the members of the group, it is important that the group name and description accurately describe its intent. Site and service notifications—When users are configured (as described in  Add, edit, and delete users ) there is a Notifications option, which, if it is set to Yes, determines if the user receives notifications sent to user groups of which they are members. These notifications originate from Aryaka support and alert group members of any issue or update to a specified site or service. Group members—You can add MyAryaka users to the group during the creation of the group. User groups are created with  no  roles assigned to the group. You must edit the newly-created user group as described in the  To edit a user group  section later in this topic to assign roles to the group. These assigned roles are then passed to the current and future members of the group. The Access Control > User Groups page lists all MyAryaka user groups currently configured for your organization. From the User Groups page you can navigate to pages where you can create a new user group, and edit and delete existing user groups. The ability to add, edit, or delete a user group in MyAryaka requires Read/Write permissions. If you user account does not include this permission, the Add, Edit, and Delete icons do not appear on the corresponding pages. To open the User Groups page Log in to MyAryaka. The Home page appears. Click  Global Settings  in the left navigation pane. The Global Settings page displays a series of tiles. Click  User Groups  in the Access Control tile. The User Groups page appears.  To add a user group On the User Groups page, click +  Add . The Add a User Group page appears. Enter a group name and description in the corresponding fields in the Group Info pane. (Optional) Configure Site Notifications. This user group receives a notification from Aryaka Support to alert group members who are configured to receive notifications of any issue or update to this site. For example, new features added or a planned maintenance window.  Click  Add  in Site Notifications pane. The Add Sites dialog appears. It displays a table, which lists all sites in your Aryaka network. Click one or more sites to associate with the selected user group. A check appears next to the selected sites. You can also click  Select All  to send notifications to this group about updates to all sites. Click  Add Selected . The Add User Group page appears with the selected sites and the site's code displayed in Site Notifications pane. (Optional) Configure Service Notifications. Similar to site notifications, this user group receives a notifications of any issue or update to the selected services.  Click one or more services to send notifications to this user group when the service is updated. The selected services appear with a dark outline. Click a selected service to discontinue service notifications being sent to this user group. Add users to the group. Click  Add  in the Users pane. The Add User dialog appears. It displays the list of existing MyAryaka users and their user type. Click one or more individual users to add to this user group. A check appears next to selected users. Click  Add Selected . The Add User Group page appears with the added users listed in the Users pane.  Click  Submit  to send a change request to Aryaka support. The Add User Group page displays Pending Change while the group is being created. If you navigate to the User Groups page, the new group appears with a status of Provisioning while the request is being processed. User groups are created with  no  roles assigned to the group. You must edit the newly-created user group as described in the next section to assign roles to the group. These assigned roles are then passed to the current and future members of the group. To assign roles to a user group On the User Groups page, click the name of the user group that you want to edit. The  <groupName>  page appears in read-only mode. By default, it displays the User Group Info tab page. Click the  Assign Roles  tab. The Assign Roles tab page appears. Click  Edit . The page appears in edit mode. Click  Add . The Add Role dialog appears. Click one or more individual roles you want to associate with this user group. A check appears next to the selected roles. Click  Add Selected . The user group's details page appears with the selected roles displayed in a table. The Action column displays a  Delete  icon that you can use to remove a role from this user group.  Click  Submit  to send a change request to Aryaka Support. The user group's details page displays Pending Change while the group is being updated. If you navigate to the User Groups page, the user group appears with a status of Provisioning while the request is being processed. After processing, the roles associated with this user group are assigned to all users currently in the group and all users added to it in the future. Removing a user from the group removes the role and its corresponding access rights from the user. To edit a user group On the User Groups page, click the name of the user group that you want to edit. The  <groupName>  page appears in read-only mode. By default, it displays the User Group Info tab page. Click  Edit  in the Basic Information pane. The page appears in edit mode. Edit one or more of the following fields in the Basic Information pane:  Edit the entry in the Name field. Edit the entry in the Description field. Do one or both of the following in the Site Notifications pane:  Click the  Delete  icon in the Action column next to the site you want remove from the notifications list. Click  Add  to add additional sites to the notification list, then select one or more sites from the dialog that appears. Do one or both of the following in the Service Notifications pane:  Click a selected service (one with a dark outline) you want remove from the notifications list.  Click an unselected service to add it to the notification list. Do one or both of the following in the Users pane:  Click the  Delete  icon in the Action column next to the user you want remove from the group. Click  Add  to add additional users to the user group, then select one or more users from the dialog that appears. Click  Submit  to send a change request to Aryaka support. The User Group Info tab page displays Pending Change and highlights the edited fields in yellow while the group is being updated. If you navigate to the User Groups page, the edited group appears with a status of Provisioning while the request is being processed. To delete a user group On the User Groups page, click the row of the group that you want to delete. The  <groupName>  page appears in read-only mode. Click the  Delete  icon. A message prompts you to confirm the deletion. Click  OK . The user group appears on the User Groups page with a status of Provisioning while the request is being processed. Related topics View user group details View user details Add, edit, and delete users View and import roles Add, edit, and delete roles