---
title: "Add, edit, and delete roles"
canonical: "https://docs.aryaka.com/space/KNOW/774438999/Add%2C%20edit%2C%20and%20delete%20roles"
format: markdown
---
Roles enforce access control to specific MyAryaka features. They can be assigned to individuals users and to user groups. Roles assigned to a user group are assigned to the current and future members of the group. MyAryaka allows you to create custom roles and also includes predefined roles that you can use to control access to features. The Access Control > Roles page lists all MyAryaka roles currently configured for your organization. From the Roles page you can navigate to pages where you create custom roles, and edit and delete existing roles. The ability to add, edit, or delete a role in MyAryaka requires Read/Write permissions. If your user does not include this access, the Add, Edit, and Delete icons do not appear on the corresponding pages. To add custom roles Open the Add a Role page if it is not already open: Log in to MyAryaka. The Home page appears. Click  Global Settings  in the left navigation pane. The Global Settings page appears and displays a series of tiles.  Click  Roles  in the Access Control tile. The Roles page appears. Click  + Add . The Add a Role page appears. Enter a role name and a description in the corresponding fields in the Role Info pane. Do one or more of the following to define this role's access in the Access Details pane: Click an option in the Access column to assign Read or Read/Write access for this role (all features are set to No Access by default). Click multiple checkboxes to the left of features that you want to assign Read or Read/Write access to for this role. The Bulk Edit drop-down list appears. A message confirms the number of features selected. Click the  Bulk Edit  drop-down list, then select the desired access for the selected features. The selected features' access setting appears in yellow (showing that it has been edited, but not provisioned). Click  Submit . The new-created role's details page appears with the access details displayed in the table. Note that the the page's Status field (top of page) is set to Provisioning. It is updated to Configured when Aryaka Support completes the change request.  To edit an existing role Open the Roles page Log in to MyAryaka. The Home page appears. Click  Global Settings  in the left navigation pane. The Global Settings page appears and displays a series of tiles.  Click  Roles  in the Access Control tile. The Roles page appears. Click the name of the role you want to edit. The selected role's details page appears.  Click the  Edit  icon. The page appears in edit mode. Note that the predefined Admin role  cannot  be edited. Its detail page appears, but does  not  include an Edit button. Edit one or more of the fields in the Role Info pane. Do one or more of the following to edit this role's access in the Access Details pane: Click an option in the Access column to assign No Access, Read, or Read/Write access for the corresponding feature. Click multiple checkboxes to the left of features that you want to change access to for this role. The Bulk Edit drop-down list appears. A message confirms the number of features selected. Click the  Bulk Edit  drop-down list, then select the desired access for the selected features. The selected features' access setting appears in yellow (showing that it has been edited, but not provisioned). Click  Submit . The role's details page appears with the updated role displayed in the table. Note that the page's Status field set to Provisioning. It is updated to Configured when Aryaka Support completes the change request. To delete a role On the Roles page, click the name of the role that you want to delete. The  <roleName>  page appears. Click the  Delete  icon. A message prompts you to confirm the deletion. Click  OK . The role appears on the Roles page with a status of Provisioning while the change request is being processed. Related topics View and import roles Access control overview View user details Add, edit, and delete users View user group details Add, edit, and delete user groups