---
title: "Decommission guide"
canonical: "https://docs.aryaka.com/space/KNOW/1265106969/Decommission%20guide"
format: markdown
---
The term  decommission  defines a process of removing any customer-owned entity on Aryaka. This entity is defined as a site, a domain, or the entire customer account. This document describes the decommission process in terms of configuration and does not explain any financial aspects pertaining to decommissioning. Decommission process Customers can request to decommission any entity by emailing Aryaka support team at  support@aryaka.com . Support team informs the sales and customer success teams internally about the customer's decision. The support team is notified of the pending decommission and the dates that were negotiated by the customer and the Aryaka sales team. Two days before the billing end date, the support team sends an email to the customer to confirm the request to decommission and to get the ANAP retrieval process started. If the customer has a link procured and or managed by Aryaka, the support team begins processing the circuit contract termination with the provider. The Aryaka link procurement team contacts the customer if any approvals are required. If the customer fails to respond to the email, support proceeds to decommission the entity two days after the email. Entity is expected to not carry any traffic over Aryaka during the decommission process. Note:  Aryaka implements a change freeze during the last two weeks of each quarter. During this period no decommission requests are processed. Data retention after decommission The following sections describe what happens to the following data types after decommissioning: Customer data Configuration and monitoring data Billing data Customer data Aryaka provides WAN optimization by applying patented multi-segment optimization and data deduplication, along with standard compression and SSL acceleration. Using various algorithms, Aryaka stores specific bytes from the user’s data pattern on both the POP and the ANAP. This data is encrypted using a unique key pair at all times. During regular operation, this anonymized information exists at the POPs and ANAPs for one to seven days based on the customer's rate of traffic and gets automatically deleted after this period. However, once an entity is decommissioned, all corresponding data stored in the POPs is deleted immediately and cannot be retrieved. If a site with an ANAP is decommissioned, the data on the ANAP is deleted with two to four weeks of the customer shipping the ANAP back to Aryaka. During this period, the data remains encrypted on the device using a unique key pair. No user has access to the unique key pair. Configuration and monitoring data As soon as an entity is decommissioned, Aryaka removes its configuration information from internal databases and it is not recoverable. This includes certificates and private keys provided by the customer for SSL acceleration. This also applies to the statistics related to that entity. Therefore, after decommissioning, all graphs related to the entity’s traffic, latency, packet loss, and so on are deleted and not available for viewing in the MyAryaka portal. Billing data Customers can access their billing data for a period of three months after decommissioning using the MyAryaka portal. MyAryaka provides billing-related information for three months prior to decommissioning. This is applicable even when the entire customer is decommissioned. For data older than this, going as far back as 12 months prior to decommissioning, contact  support@aryaka.com . In this topic Related topics Erase ANAP configuration